Biography

Mikhail Petrenko is one of the most sought after basses in the world. His performances are a success with both the public and critics, who describe his talent as: "When that rich, reverberating tone rises from the depths, then pours forth to fill the auditorium, it is difficult not to feel a certain thrill..."

Mikhail was born in St Petersburg and graduated from the St Petersburg State Rimsky-Korsakov Conservatoire in the class of Professor Minzhilkiev. While still a student at the St Petersburg Conservatoire he was invited to join the Mariinsky Academy of young Singers. Made his debut at the Mariinsky Theatre in Prokofiev’s opera Semyon Kotko, and since 1998 has been a soloist with the Opera Company. To a great degree he owes his emergence as a singer to maestro Valery Gergiev.

The start of Mikhail Petrenko’s international career came with his debut at the Berliner Staatsoper as Hunding (Die Walküre) in 2004 under the baton of Daniel Barenboim. Since then, Mikhail Petrenko has been invited to the world’s leading opera houses and prestigious opera festivals.

In November 2011 he performed the role of Ruslan (Ruslan and Lyudmila) at the reopening of Moscow’s historical Bolshoi Theatre.

Previous careers highlights also includes the role of Méphistophélès in Gounod's Faust with the Netherlands Opera, both the title role in a new production of Duke Bluebeard's Castle and Prince Galitsky (Prince Igor) at the Metropolitan Opera, Fafner in Vagner‘s Der Ring des Nibelungen with the Vienna State Opera.

Among his recent engagements are performances at the Mariinsky Theatre in operas by Verdi (Don Carlos, Aida, Othello, Macbeth) and Wagner (Lohengrin, The Flying Dutchman), as well as the title role in Mozart’s Le nozze di Figaro at the Metropolitan Opera and appearance in Bartok on Stage programme at Severance Hall.

Mikhail Petrenko has won such prestigious international vocal competitions as the Maria Callas Competition, the Nikolai Rimsky-Korsakov Competition, the Plácido Domingo Competition and the Elena Obraztsova Competition.

He has appeared at the Opéra National de Paris, the Metropolitan Opera (New York), La Scala (Milan), the Bayerische Staatsoper and the Royal Opera House, Covent Garden (London) as well as at the Salzburg Festival, the Aix en Prevence Festival and the BBC Proms concerts held at the Royal Albert Hall in London.

Orchestras with which Mikhail Petrenko has appeared include the Berliner Philharmoniker, the Mariinsky Theatre Symphony Orchestra, the Wiener Philharmoniker, the London Philharmonic Orchestra, the Orchestre de Paris, the Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra, the Rotterdam Philharmonic Orchestra, the San Francisco Symphony Orchestra, Salzburg’s Mozarteum Orchestra, Manchester’s Hallé Orchestra and Bavarian Radio Orchestra.

Mikhail Petrenko works with such outstanding conductors as Valery Gergiev, Esa-Pekka Salonen, Sir Simon Rattle, Daniel Barenboim, Riccardo Muti, Zubin Mehta, Vladimir Jurowski, Pierre Boulez, Christoph Eschenbach, Lorin Maazel, Daniel Harding, and Yannick Nézet-Séguin

His repertoire includes:
Ruslan (Ruslan and Lyudmila), Konchak (Prince Igor), Prince Gremin (Eugene Onegin), Pimen (Boris Godunov), Prince Nikolai Bolkonsky, Marshal Davout (War and Peace), Leporello (Don Giovanni), King Marke (Tristan und Isolde), Hunding (Die Walküre), Hagen (Götterdämmerung).

Mikhail Petrenko's concert repertoire is incredibly vast, including works by Bach, Beethoven, Verdi, Dvorak, Mozart, Rachmaninoff, Rossini, Shostakovich, Janáček.

Records with Mikhail’s participation are released on the most prestigious classical labels: Naxos, Opus Arte, Mariinsky, Bel Air Classiques. His recent video Elektra, released on Bel Air Classiques, won one of the most important classical music industry awards Gramophone Classical Music Awards in 2015.

Mikhail Petrenko’s cinematic debut came very recently with the film Juan, based on Mozart’s opera Don Giovanni, in which he performed the role of Leporello. The film was premiered at the Hamburg Film Festival in October 2010.

Биография

Михаил Петренко — один из самых востребованных басов в мире. Его выступления имеют успех у публики и критиков, отзывающихся о нем так: «Трудно не испытать глубокое волнение, когда слышишь этот богатый, раскатистый тембр, поднимающийся из глубины и наполняющий зал».

Михаил Петренко родился в Ленинграде, окончил Консерваторию имени Н.А. Римского-Корсакова (педагог Булат Минжилкиев). Еще в годы обучения был приглашен в Академию молодых певцов Мариинского театра. Дебютировал в Мариинском театре в опере Сергея Прокофьева «Семен Котко», а с 1998 года является солистом оперной труппы. Огромное значение в становлении певца как артиста сыграл маэстро Валерий Гергиев.

Началом международной карьеры Михаила Петренко стал дебют в Берлинской государственной опере в партии Хундинга («Валькирия»), состоявшийся в 2004 году под музыкальным руководством Даниэля Баренбойма. С этого момента артист выступает на сценах лучших театров мира и участвует в престижных оперных фестивалях.

В ноябре 2011 года Михаил Петренко исполнил партию Руслана в опере М.И. Глинки на открытии после ремонта исторической сцены Большого театра России. Среди других заметных ролей последних лет — Мефистофель в «Фаусте» Гуно на сцене Нидерландской оперы, Князь Галицкий в опере А.П. Бородина «Князь Игорь» и заглавная роль в «Замке герцога Синяя Борода» Бартока на сцене Метрополитан-Опера, Фафнир в вагнеровском «Кольце нибелунга» на сцене Венской оперы.

Среди последних выступлений артиста — роли на сцене Мариинского театра в операх Верди («Дон Карлос», «Аида», «Отелло», «Макбет») и Вагнера («Лоэнгрин», «Летучий голландец»), участие в новой программе «Bartok on Stage» в Северенс-Холле, а также заглавная партия в «Свадьбе Фигаро» Моцарта в Метрополитан-Опера.

Михаил Петренко — лауреат таких престижных международных вокальных конкурсов, как конкурс имени Марии Каллас, конкурс имени Н.А. Римского-Корсакова, конкурсы Пласидо Доминго и Елены Образцовой.

Выступает в Парижской национальной опере, Метрополитен-Опера (Нью-Йорк), театре Ла Скала (Милан), Баварской государственной оперы, Королевском оперном театре Ковент-Гарден (Лондон), а также на Зальцбургском фестивале, фестивале Вербье, фестивале в Экс-ан- Провансе, фестивале «Би-би-си Промс», концерты которого проходят в Королевском Альберт-холле в Лондоне.

Среди музыкальных коллективов, с которыми сотрудничает Михаил Петренко, – Берлинский филармонический оркестр, Симфонический оркестр Мариинского театра, Венский филармонический оркестр, Лондонский филармонический оркестр, Оркестр де Пари, Королевский оркестр Консертгебау, Роттердамский филармонический оркестр, Симфонический оркестр Сан-Франциско, Оркестр Моцартеум (Зальцбург), манчестерский Халле-оркестр и Оркестр Баварского радио.

Певец работал с такими выдающимися дирижерами, как Валерий Гергиев, Эса-Пекка Салонен, сэр Саймон Рэттл, Даниэль Баренбойм, Риккардо Мути, ЗубинМета, Владимир Юровский, Пьер Булез, Кристоф Эшенбах, Лорин Маазель, Даниел Хардинг, Янник Незе-Сеген.

В репертуаре артиста:
Руслан («Руслан и Людмила»), Кончак, Князь Галицкий («Князь Игорь»), Гремин(«Евгений Онегин»), Пимен («Борис Годунов»), Князь Николай Андреевич Болконский, Маршал Даву («Война и мир»), Дон Жуан, Лепорелло («Дон Жуан»), Король Марк («Тристан и Изольда»), Хундинг («Валькирия»), Хаген («Гибель богов»).

Концертный репертуар Михаила Петренко необычайно широк, в него входят произведения Баха, Бетховена, Верди, Дворжака, Моцарта, Рахаманинова, Россини, Шостаковича, Яначека.

Записи с участием артиста выходят на самых престижных классических лейблах: Naxos, Opus Arte, Mariinsky, Bel Air Classiques. Выпущенная на последнем видеозапись «Электры» завоевала в 2015 году одну из важнейших наград индустрии Gramophone Classical Music Awards.

Михаил Петренко сыграл роль Лепорелло в фильме «Хуан», созданном на основе оперы Моцарта «Дон Жуан». Премьера картины прошла в рамках Гамбургского кинофестиваля в октябре 2010 года.